PERFECT PHOTO PIXELS

ALL ABOUT PHOTOGRAPHY BY DOMINIQUE JAMES

My top 10 favorite iPhone photo apps

with 2 comments

BY DOMINIQUE JAMES

Since Apple’s iPhone first came out in 2007, I’ve been shooting with its built-in camera. Through the years, a whole lot of excitement has happened in iPhone photography, or “iphoneography” as it is now generally called.

Because I shoot so many iPhone pictures, and I shoot every day now, I started an iPhone-photo-a-day blog. I thought of doing it only for a year, but habits die hard. And so, to this day, I continue to post and share online one iPhone photo a day. (Every now and then, I post more than one picture a day.)

The most common feedback I get from those who see my iPhone photos is: “I can’t believe you took that with only the iPhone’s camera!”

The only reply I can give is to assure them that indeed I took the pictures only with the iPhone’s camera, and then say “thank you” with a smile.

The second most common feedback I get is: “How’d you do that?”

The answer, of course, is that I use the amazing third-party photo apps for the iPhone (which I got from Apple’s app store) to refine and enhance the pictures.

Based on almost 4 years of shooting with the iPhone’s camera (2G, 3G, 3Gs and 4) and from using almost a hundred different iPhone photography apps, this is my top 10 favorite, most used, and highly recommended iPhone photography apps (in no particular order):

  • Adobe Photoshop Express
  • PhotoForge
  • Best Camera
  • CameraBag
  • Lo-Mob
  • GorillaCam
  • Hipstamatic
  • ShakeItPhoto
  • PictureShow
  • Infinicam

Bonus:

  • PerfectlyClear
  • Instagram
  • Diptic
  • Camera Plus Pro
  • 360 Panorama
  • Dash Of Color

Many of the apps in this list are my standard favorites, which I’ve been using for a very, very long time; and some are new additions that have dramatically improved my iPhone photography.

How about you, what are your favorite iPhone apps?

[Note: Check out my one-a-day iPhone photos here. Also, check out my collection of fine art photographs over at Zatista. Thanks!]

Written by dominiquejames

January 1, 2011 at 3:47 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The iPhone is such a great photography tool.

    (By the way, did you mean 2007 instead of 1997?)

    chezkiri

    January 3, 2011 at 8:29 AM

  2. Thanks for catching it! Date updated.

    dominiquejames

    January 4, 2011 at 4:29 AM


Leave a Reply

